Explore our collection of historic agricultural tools and machinery

Trustees and Staff

The Trust

The Wye Rural Museum Trust (reg. charity number: 1055879) was formed in 1996 to take over the ownership of the Museum buildings and collections from Wye College (University of London).

With the help of a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund and a number of corporate and private donations the Trust was able to buy the site and buildings from Wye College, which then gifted the collections to the Trust, which took formal control in May 1997.

Contact with the Trust can be made by email.

Trustees Mission

The management and care of the buildings and the collections is carried out by the Wye Rural Museum Trust and a team of dedicated volunteers.

The mission of Brook Rural Museum is to preserve, interpret and improve access to the museum site; to collect, preserve, interpret and exhibit the agricultural and rural history of Brook and East Kent; and to ensure the widest possible public access to the site and its heritage assets.

Members of the Trust

Tim Betts

Co-opted Trustee

John Bulaitis

Co-opted Trustee

Jeremy Clarke

Co-opted Trustee

Sir George Jessel DL

Nominated by Canterbury Farmers Club

Caroline Knight

Co-opted Trustee

Julie Martin

Co-opted Trustee

Robert Masters

Co-opted Trustee

Sir John Mummery DL

Co-opted Trustee

John Nightingale


Sheila Sweetinburgh

Nominated by Kent Archaeological Society

John Tomkins

Co-opted Trustee

Paul Webster

Co-opted Trustee

Mike West

Co-opted Trustee

Officers and Advisers of the Trust

Cllr Simon Betty

Ashford Borough Council Liasion

Rebecca Nash


Mike Mooney


Andrew Scarfe


Staff Members

Chris Jones

Conservation & Collections Officer

Tom Kennett


Hannah Laws

Cataloguing Assistant

Philippa Mesiano

Community Engagement Manager

Claire McQuillan

Conservation & Collections Officer

Fran Penberthy

Administrator & Community Liaison Officer

Wye Rural Museum Trust © 2024. All Rights Reserved
Registered Charity 1055879 
Privacy Notice
Site by Classic Cine

Made possible with the National Lottery Heritage Fund